+ Reply to Thread

Thread: How Do You Quit a Job?

Thanks

How Do You Quit a Job?

I don't know if anyone has any experience with this...I sure don't...but I was wondering what a good way was to quit your job. It might sound silly, but I really don't know as I've never done it before! I assume I'll actually need a letter of resignation and not just verbally tell them?

I am FINALLY quitting my hellish job on Friday. It has made me miserable for 3.5 years and I am THRILLED to finally have an out. I got a new job at a university and I'm really excited about it. I think it's going to be HELL when I quit, though. We're a very small office and one person quit two weeks ago and her last day is the day that I am planning on quitting, so I think they're going to be extra sensitive on Friday. They are planning on giving me a lot of her work...but I don't know what they'll do when I quit. They're going to be so pissed and I'm kind of nervous about it. But, it has to be done.

I mean, what is a good way to approach my boss? Does anyone have any good suggestions? I'm just worried that they're going to make my life hell for the next two weeks. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    Yay on you getting a new job! I've only really properly quit once but I was lucky enough to have a nice boss who was very approachable. Was still really nervous though! I called him and just said I'd got into uni so I'd be leaving.

I dunno what the best approach is in your situation, I would say tell them before writing a letter because it probably feels more like a stab in the back to them if you make it all formal like that and don't tell them to their face. Just tell them you feel it's time to move on and you have a new job.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Daisy For This Useful Post:

Mike PP (03-24-2011)

Thanks